2 Bedroom Walk To Beach Victorian

Sweet Pea — Pacific Grove

32 reviews
Choose dates to view discounts and book

$159 - $499
Rates (Nightly):
Select Dates
Your Rate (Nightly):
2 Night Min.
[ Edit dates ]
Select Dates
You Save:
Select Dates
Checkout Cleaning:

View 12-month Calendar

Select Dates to View Discounts

View Availability Calendar

Cancellation Policies

Have Questions?

Local Contact: Kyle

Phone: 831 233-7972

Email: Click here to send email

2018 Readers' Choice Award for Monterey Bay Property Management

MontereyRentals.com Policies - by checking “I have read and agree to these policies,” or by completing this reservation, accepting keys or taking occupancy to the Premises, I signify my acceptance of and agreement with the policies herein.  

Check in time is 3 pm.  Check out time is 11 a.m.


This Agreement may be cancelled up to 60 days prior to arrival. The full amount of the rental is due within 60 days of arrival and is non-refundable after that date. The down payment, made at the time of the reservation, is completely non-refundable.

A $35 change fee will be charged to the credit card used to make the original reservation for any change to an existing reservation.


The Premises are located in a residential neighborhood that includes both short-term guests and year-round residents who enjoy living in a tranquil environment. Maximum occupancy rates are strictly enforced.

Special events and/or large parties, such as weddings, receptions, rehearsal dinners, birthday/anniversary celebrations, are strictly prohibited, and are a violation of the rental property owner's rental permit. A small dinner party or gathering for no more than one and one half times the number of guests who are accommodated at the Premises is permitted.

Note: If you are planning an event during your stay, please be sure you have arranged for a venue other than the Premises (contact us for suggestions of alternate venues). If you did not understand these policies when you booked your reservation and wish to cancel your stay, please contact us within 24 hours of making your reservation, and we will fully refund any payment made and cancel any future obligation.

Security Deposits and Accidental Damage Safeguard

Security deposits (if any) are charged to the credit card used to secure the reservation seven days prior to arrival and returned seven days after departure, or an itemized statement indicating the basis for and the disposition of the deposit or any part of it will be provided.

Security deposits, if any, will be held in the trust account of Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals. All or any portion of the security deposit, upon termination of occupancy, may be used as reasonably necessary, to (i) pay any sums still due; (ii) repair damage, excluding ordinary wear and tear, caused by the occupants, by any guests, or by any licensees of the occupants; (iii) clean the Premises; (iv) replace or return personal property or appurtenances.

Accidental Damage Safeguard (“ADS”) is a non-refundable fee for which Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals assumes the liability associated with minor accidental damages to the rented premises or its contents during occupancy relative to this reservation. ADS is not insurance, nor should it be interpreted as such. ADS allows Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals to waive occupants’ responsibility for reported accidental damage up to a maximum aggregate amount of $1,500.00.

ADS becomes effective upon check-in (and may not be purchased after check-in) and terminates upon departure of the occupants or at 11 am on the last day of the rental term (“check-out time”), whichever occurs first. Unreported damages, non-accidental damages, excluded damages, or damages exceeding $1,500.00 dollars are the sole responsibility of the occupants. The purchase of ADS does not in any way negate occupants’ responsibility to care for the Premises as if it were occupants’ own home. The cost to repair damage attributable to occupants or occupants’ invitees due to intentional acts, willful misconduct, gross negligence, abuse of the Premises, violation of these rental policies, or animals will not be paid under the ADS, and remain the responsibility of the occupants.

Damage must be reported to Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals prior to “check-out time.” The ADS applies only to loss or damage to the rented premises or its contents. The applicability of ADS to damaged property (and any determination of the extent of damage and/or the cost of repairs thereof) shall be in the sole and absolute discretion of Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals.

Note:  We understand that accidents happen. You obviously do, too, since you have made this purchase—so please do not hesitate to contact us if accidental damage occurs during your stay. We want to know about it, so that 1) your ADS is applicable, and 2) we can make repairs for both you and future guests.

Cleaning and cleaning fees

-Potential extra fee: there is a $25/hour charge for excessive cleaning beyond the standard checkout cleaning.

Departure housekeeping service includes: Replenishing soap and paper products, vacuuming carpets and rugs, cleaning bathrooms, cleaning crumbs and minor food splatters, unloading dishwasher, dusting furniture and other surfaces, laundering one set of sheets per bed and bath linens that are hung in bathrooms upon arrival, cleaning out wood-burning fireplace, and regular chemical servicing of hot tub (where applicable).

Departure housekeeping service does NOT include: Removing spots (such as coffee, wine, and food) from carpets, rugs, and upholstery; unclogging sewer lines due to paper overload (or items other than tissue put into toilets); cleaning major food spills or baked-on food from appliances; cleaning BBQ; washing/loading dirty dishes; moving furniture back to its original place; window washing to remove fingerprints; laundering multiple sets of sheets and bath linens; removal of paper, food, or foreign items from gas fireplace; removal of sand and pine needles from hot tub (where applicable). If your rental has a hot tub, please wash sandy feet before using, and keep it covered when not in use.

All landscaping, furnishings, appliances, and all mechanical, electrical, gas and plumbing fixtures will be properly used by all occupants, and Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals will be immediately notified of any problem or malfunction.  All repairs or replacements caused by the occupant(s) and/or their guests, excluding ordinary wear and tear, and including repair of drain blockages or stoppages unless caused by defective plumbing parts or tree roots invading sewer lines, will be charged to the credit card provided to secure this reservation. Checking "I have read and agree to these policies" and/or completing this reservation, accepting keys, or taking occupancy to the Premises, shall be proof of authorization to charge said credit card accordingly.

Check in: 3 pm or later

Keys and/or entry codes to the Premises will be available at 3 pm on the arrival date listed in the reservation.

Note:  As we often have guests departing the day you arrive, early check-in or storage of luggage in the room before 3 pm on the day of arrival is permitted only by prior arrangement, for which there may be an additional fee.

Check out: 11 am or earlier

As we often have guests arriving the day you check out, late checkout is permitted only by prior arrangement, for which there may be an additional fee. You will be charged a late checkout fee for any time past check out that the Premises is still occupied without prior arrangement. Contact your local representative immediately if your departure may be delayed.

Unauthorized holding over is subject to a minimum charge of 1.5 times the prorated daily rate. Charges for holding over may also include the cost of alternative housing for any guests who may be displaced, as well as any additional housekeeping fees that may be incurred as a result. Checking "I have read and agree to these policies,” or completing this reservation, accepting keys, or taking occupancy to the Premises shall be proof of authorization to charge said credit card accordingly.

General Policies

Those contracting for this rental must be eighteen or older. Occupants will receive notice of occupancy, parking and other terms and conditions that apply to the use of the Premises, and are responsible to ensure that impermissible or inappropriate behavior does not occur at the Premises and that all terms and conditions described herein are met.

Occupants are renting the Premises as transient lodgers from the property owner, who retains full legal, possessory and access rights.

Occupancy is limited to the number of persons for which this reservation was originally made. Visitors are permitted to the extent that the total number of visitors does not exceed twice the number of persons for which this reservation was originally made. Overnight guests are permitted to the extent that the total number of persons sleeping at the Premises does not exceed the total number of persons who may be accommodated in the sleeping accommodations provided in the home. If the Premises are used, in any way, by more or different persons than those scheduled with Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals, (i) Occupants, Authorized Guests and all others may be required to immediately leave the Premises or be removed from the Premises; (ii) Occupants are in breach of this Agreement; and (iii) Occupants/Guests forfeit right to return of any security deposit and are responsible for any expenses relative to the occupancy. Checking "I have read and agree to these poli cies," or completing this reservation, accepting keys, or taking occupancy to the Premises shall be proof of authorization to charge said credit card accordingly.

Condition of Premises: Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals and the property owner make every effort to keep properties in good working order; however, reporting or requesting repairs is not a reason to cancel this Agreement or to receive a refund of any payments made due to the mechanical failure of appliances, video/audio equipment, or any household systems. Occupants will notify Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals upon arrival if anything in or about the premises is found to be damaged or not satisfactorily cleaned.

Access to the Premises by Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals is permitted at any time to make repairs, decorations, alterations, maintenance, or improvements, or to supply necessary or agreed services, to verify compliance with the terms of this Agreement, or in case of emergency. If Premises is offered for sale, occupants will permit it to be shown to prospective buyers, lenders, inspectors or appraisers with reasonable notice.

Should this unit become unavailable for reasons beyond Monterey Bay Vacation Rental’s control, an alternate accommodation may be selected from available properties or the cardholder contracting for this reservation may receive a full refund for any time left unused under this Agreement.

No personal property of the occupants or their guests is insured by Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals or the property owner against loss or damage. Owner does not insure against personal injury to occupants or their guests for any reason other than the condition of the Premises. Occupants agree to carry insurance to protect themselves, their guests, and their personal property from any loss, damage, or injury. Occupants and their guests agree to use Premises at their own risk and indemnify and hold harmless Monterey Bay Vacation Rentals and/or the property owner from any and all liability in regard to their use of Premises. 

In the event of any dispute, the venue is Monterey County, and the laws of the state of California will govern. All parties will mediate any dispute or claim arising from this transaction in Monterey County. In any mediation or court action arising out of this agreement, each party shall be responsible for his own attorney’s fees and costs.

Megan’s Law Database Disclosure: Notice: Pursuant to Section 290.4 of the Penal Code, information about specified registered sex offenders is made available to the public via an Internet Web site maintained by the Department of Justice at http://www.meganslaw.ca.gov. Depending on an offender’s criminal history, this information will include either the address at which the offender resides or the community of residence and ZIP Code in which he or she resides. Neither Landlord nor Owner’s Representative are required to check this website. If further information is desired, please obtain information directly from this website.

The Authorized Occupants are individually and completely responsible for the performance of all obligations under this Agreement, jointly and individually with every other Occupant. 

Occupants will not disturb neighbors, will not use the Premises for unlawful purposes, nor violate any law nor commit waste or nuisance upon or about the Premises.

No property will be removed from the site. The Premises will be returned in the same condition as found upon arrival (excluding routine housekeeping, as described above).

This is a non-smoking property. If evidence of smoking is found, damage and/or cleanup costs, including, but not limited to stains, burns, odors, and removal of debris, will be charged to the credit card provided to secure this reservation. Checking "I have read and agree to these policies," or completing this reservation, accepting keys, or taking occupancy to the Premises shall be proof of authorization to charge said credit card accordingly. All occupants will leave the Premises immediately and forfeit any security deposit. 

Policies Specific to this Property

Animals are not allowed on the Premises. If an animal or evidence of an animal is found on the Premises, damage or cleanup costs will be charged to the credit card provided to secure this reservation. Checking "I have read and agree to these policies," or completing this reservation, accepting keys, or taking occupancy to the Premises shall be proof of authorization to charge said credit card accordingly. All occupants will leave the Premises immediately and forfeit any security deposit.

We were delighted with our stay at Sweet Pea - parking was easy, pick up was very well guided and clear instructions given. The house itself was delightful and very well situated. We would happily stay here again! From the well furnished and supplied kitchen/dinner, to the two generously sized bedrooms, we were overall very impressed with the cottage. Couple of ideas to go from 10/10 to 11/10, we would have appreicated a full length mirror somewhere in the house, and we would have loved curtains in the upstairs bedroom, but these are so minor that we only mention them to be helpful. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Linda from Toronto, Canada and Southend, UK

950 sq. ft. | 2 Bedroom | 2 Bath | Sleeps 4 (1Q, 2T) Max. Occupancy 4

  • Share this Rental
Experience the vintage charm of Pacific Grove in this two-bedroom/two bath seaside cottage built in 1890. This historic home is close to Jewell Park, a short stroll from Lover’s Point Beach—and just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants lining Lighthouse Avenue.

You’ll feel warm and welcome with a gas fireplace, a cheerful, green and white country-style kitchen, and a small patio with room to barbeque. Period touches abound, from the brass bed in the master to the white claw foot tub in the upstairs bath. And when the fog rolls in, the cozy nook at the top of the stairs is the perfect place to nestle in with a cup of cocoa and a good book.

Pacific Grove Transient Use License #410

Features & Amenities


  • Kitchen - Full
  • Laundry - In Unit
  • Linens Provided
  • Gas Fireplace


  • Queen Bed
  • Twin/Single Bed (2)


  • Internet - Wireless [Free]
  • Telephone
  • Free Local Calls


  • Beach - 5 Min Walk
  • Restaurant - 5 Min Walk
  • Snorkeling - 5 Min Walk
  • Surfing - Nearby
  • Golfing Nearby
  • Day Spa - Nearby


  • Cooking Utensils Provided
  • Refrigerator - Full Size
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker


  • TV - Standard Cable/Satellite
  • DVD


  • No Pets Allowed
  • Smoking Not Allowed

Room Descriptions


Lover's Point Beach, the Coastal Trail and the Farmer's Market are all a short walk away

Dining Area

Dining area (how cute is that?)

Living Room

Relax in the living room by the fire (when you're not at the beach)


Cottage kitchen

Upper Bathroom

Bath with clawfoot tub

Master Bedroom

The master bedroom with armoire

Lower Bathroom

Bath with tub/shower

Second Bedroom

Two twins under the dormer


Lover's Point Beach and the Coastal Trail is just a five minute walk away


The Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row are nearby.













Charming Home

Reviewed by Jessica

Date 11/20/2019

This home was very clean!! They had lots of towels and shampoo and conditioner for our use. It was situated on a small lot with no parking, street parking was challenging at times. The home is only a block from lover point and the trail into Monterey and a block from downtown. We walked to most of the places we wanted to go and it was so nice to be close. The fireplace was such a nice touch since we were visiting in November it was really nice to relax next to a warm fire at the end of the day!!

Sweet Pea is a Sweet Stay!

Reviewed by ASHLEE

Date 10/03/2019

My best friend & I chose Sweet Pea mainly based on location near the ocean & the great price, & that we'd have our separate rooms & bathrooms. We arrived late one evening & were immediately charmed! The directions to picking up the keys were easy to follow & no hassle. The house was tidy, clean, & well kept. We did have an issue locking the back door & that was resolved quickly the next day. Although we wanted separate rooms, we're both ended up staying in the upstairs suite in the twin beds! There's a small area at the landing of the stairs we used as a dressing area, but would perfect for a kids play area. I'm not a bath person but the deep claw foot tub looked very inviting! The house is stocked with books, games, & plenty of towels, & there's a full washer & dryer in the back. Located on a narrow residential street makes parking a gamble but we never had to park more than a block away. Neighbors are friendly but not overly chatty, which is nice when you're an introvert! There's a large front porch we sat & had drinks & a small sitting area in the back but otherwise not much outdoor space. We really enjoyed our stay & if we return to Pacific Grove, will definitely stay at Sweet Pea again!

Superb Stay

Reviewed by Linda

Date 09/28/2019

We were delighted with our stay at Sweet Pea - parking was easy, pick up was very well guided and clear instructions given. The house itself was delightful and very well situated. We would happily stay here again! From the well furnished and supplied kitchen/dinner, to the two generously sized bedrooms, we were overall very impressed with the cottage. Couple of ideas to go from 10/10 to 11/10, we would have appreicated a full length mirror somewhere in the house, and we would have loved curtains in the upstairs bedroom, but these are so minor that we only mention them to be helpful. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

5 stars

Reviewed by Thomas

Date 09/21/2019

Loved it. The location near Lovers Point is perfect. The house was immaculate and the neighborhood quiet. Kyle, our agent, was great to work with and when we had a challenge with the TVs sent his tech right away and he was awesome as well. We're already booked for next year. Many thanks

Sweet Pea

Reviewed by Kei

Date 08/17/2019

Our family love this house. A clean, good size house that is located only a short walk to both beach and shopping.

Wonderful family cottage!

Reviewed by Holly

Date 07/29/2019

This adorable cottage is perfect for a small family. Our kids had the entire upstairs to themselves, with their own little play area plus bathroom. They loved it! Downstairs was equally great, with a nice size kitchen and dining area, and then a living room in the front of the house where you could open the door to get a fresh breeze. The best thing about Sweet Pea is that it is in within walking distance of both the Aquarium and two different beaches. Reading previous reviews had me unsure if my kids (just turned 8&11) would be able to happily do the walk to the Aquarium, but it was an easy walk and we took in the sights along the way. The harbor seals sunning themselves on a beach was a highlight, and one that we would have missed had we driven. We were able to park right in front of the house and then not use our car at all. There is also a fabulous restaurant (the Beach House) within just a few minutes as well. The kids are already begging to go back, and I know that when we do return to Monterey, we will definitely try to reserve the Sweet Pea. It was a perfect fit for us!

Great stay in a cozy space

Reviewed by Bryan

Date 07/11/2019

We loved the space, the location, and especially appreciated the cleanliness.

We’ll be back!

Great, peaceful stay

Reviewed by Georgianne

Date 07/06/2019

Our stay was simple to check in and out. Lovely home. Comfortable beds, easy to work in kitchen. Lovely neighbors, especially Rory ( a neighbor's dog ) and her owner). I would of loved a little more water pressure in the shower and tub.

Sweet Pea in PG

Reviewed by Maryann

Date 06/27/2019

The house is in a great location for walking along the beautiful walking path in PG. The lack of parking is a bit of an issue; the neighbors clearly don't like short term renters parking near THEIR homes. The home is well equipped and everything works. Some instructions in the house would have been helpful; for example there seems to be some central heat but we could never find a thermostat to control it. There is a gas fireplace with it's own thermostat (which seemed inoperative). I had to call for the password for the internet. There should be guest book with some general instructions for the house. I appreciate that there was good cable TV so we could watch the Giants---many VRBO's seem to have eliminated cable TV as an amenity. Overall, we enjoyed our stay; the home was clean and comfortable and the location is fabulous.

A lovely little place

Reviewed by Kristi

Date 05/25/2019

This was a great location to stay. Close by Lover's Point and within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shops, beach trail and amazing views. Very clean and well kept regardless of it being an older place. Very impressed and would definitely stay there again!

Sweet Time at Sweet Pea

Reviewed by AUTUMN

Date 04/13/2019

The property is a beautiful, Victorian style home tucked sweetly on a residential street. Sometimes parking was difficult when other people would park in our spot. It's within walking distance to the beach, park and restaurants which was really nice with small children. It's also a 20 minute walk to the aquarium along the sea side. The house was well stocked with everything you could need from dish wear, to towels, blankets, books and games! It was also very clean besides done silverware that didn't get cleaned properly. We had a really great time. It was also very simple to check in and out although it seemed complex when I first read the instructions. The stairs to the second floor are VERY steep so be cautious if you have small children or elderly. We'd definitely stay there again though!

Sweet Pea

Reviewed by Kathy

Date 03/09/2019

A great location. Some problems with the old house but prompt response by maintanence staff.A comfortable house for myself and a guest without running into each other.

Charming cottage in great location!

Reviewed by Karen R

Date 02/05/2019

We rented Sweet Pea cottage for the month of January 2019 and very much enjoyed our cozy cottage home. The cottage has been well maintained, charmingly decorated and has many beautiful older light fixtures. Its location is superb--less than two blocks to the ocean at Lover's Point, and also to the shops and restaurants in Pacific Grove's village. The library, Museum of Natural History and a playground are also nearby.

The kitchen is like operating in a small boat galley, with limited counter space. You'll be moving things around in order to cook, but it works. It has a nice gas stove and all the basic kitchen equipment you need. Bring your own herbs or spices other than salt and pepper.

The cottage was missing a sheet of directions when we stayed--hopefully that will be rectified. For those staying there in cooler weather it will be helpful to know that the primary heating is a gas fired wall furnace located in the hallway, regulated by a dial under the cover at the bottom of that unit (set on "3" it kept the house at a good temperature in cool weather). The attractive gas fireplace in the living room is supplementary heating and is driven by the thermostat nearby.

The beds are all very comfortable and there is plenty of extra bedding to keep you warm. The downstairs bathroom is located at the back of the house behind the kitchen, and stays a bit cool because it doesn't have a separate source of heat (that we could find). The upstairs bath is quite large with a claw-foot tub and a hand-held shower. Views from the house are limited because neighboring houses are very close so windows on the side and back of the house look at walls. The washer and dryer are located in a shed in the tiny back yard, where there is a small seating area with chairs and end tables along with a barbecue that we did not use. It does get a little sun. The nicest outdoor seating area was the front porch and yard, where the January afternoon sun was warm enough for a pleasant read.

This is a period house (it's part of the walking tour of historic homes in Pacific Grove) that has been charmingly furnished and updated. Monterey Rentals was quick to respond to any concerns. We were comfortable there and would return, especially because we enjoyed its great location.

Tastefully Fun

Reviewed by John & Linda

Date 10/26/2018

Out first-ever stay at Sweet Pea was delightful in so many ways. After arriving on a Sunday afternoon, we unloaded our car and, much to our surprise, didn’t drive our car again until our departure a week later. Each day of our stay was an exciting adventure. Sunday evening dinner at Max’s Grill … Monday, stroll along Lighthouse Avenue ending with the sumptuous evening Farmer’s Market … Tuesday, 25th wedding anniversary celebration and dinner at Fandango restaurant … Wednesday, Lover’s Point and a Monterey Trail adventure … Thursday, walking journey to the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary and Pacific Grove Museum of Natural History … Friday, return to Lighthouse Avenue and more dining adventures … Saturday, an active evening of ballroom dancing at the historic Chautauqua Hall Dance Club … Sunday, goodbye breakfast at Tootsie’s on Lighthouse Avenue. Thanks to Sweet Pea’s comfortable sleeping accommodations, we rested well each night.

Sweet Pea

Reviewed by Kenneth

Date 10/18/2018

Delightful comfortable house. Walking distance to beach, restaurants, Aquarium, shopping, movie theater, and close to Carmel. Needs new can opener, odd placement of light fixtures (hanging from the middle of the room in kitchen & bedroom) and a better placement for laundry soap would be on the washing machine, not beneath the kitchen sink where it was undetected. The neighbor Nick & her dog Rory are delightful. Excellent care of problems by Shane. I would recommend it to others.

Manager Response

We've delivered a new can opener and alerted the housekeeper to leave the detergent by the washer. Please come visit us again!

Sweet cottage in a great location

Reviewed by Antony

Date 08/06/2018

We stayed at Sweet Pea cottage for a week as a family of four with children aged 9 & 16. The cottage is lovely and full of character. It was very clean upon arrival and well presented. The children had the attic room upstairs with the larger bathroom with a lovely claw-foot bath in it. The kitchen is quite compact and basically equipped, do not expect to cook a full meal here. We had breakfast there then explored the great selection of restaurants in the local area. The beach is just at the end of the road with a great look out over Lovers Point, excellent restaurant here too. It is further to walk to the aquarium and cannery then advertised. It is a good 15-20 minute walk at a fair pace and we are not slow walkers and are very active. The lounge could do with an extra lamp or light, there is only one small lamp to light a whole room. Also, disappointing there were no DVDs to watch and no-way of paying to rent a film through the Xfinity box which we would've gladly done as the Xfinity is 800 channels of tosh. Parking can be an issue as the street is narrow and you can only park on one side, we were lucky most of the time to find a space. The neighbour is very nice and friendly and is also from the UK. The children loved the little dog living there. We would stay here again but recommend that a welcome pack would've been a nice touch, we stayed in a house the previous week in Yosemite and everything was provided including a welcome pack of groceries. No-one wants to have to go out and get basic groceries after a long drive to be able to have a coffee. The pack of coffee left in the kitchen was absolutely tiny and already open so we didn't touch it. Shame as this would be easy to do, this is not a cheap rental so I think that's the least you could do.


Reviewed by Troy

Date 07/19/2018

Perfect location, clean and nicely kept place .. Wouldn't change anything.


Sweet pea lives up to its name

Reviewed by marielle

Date 07/05/2018

Great little house with all you need to relax and enjoy. Excellent location walking distance to Monterey aquarium, beaches and downtown pacific grove. Highly recommended. Monterey rental staff were also fantastic.

Great location, quaint place

Reviewed by Kathryn

Date 05/16/2018

Nice place, in a very centrally located area in Pacific Grove. A big front porch to sit and sip a cup of coffee or glass of wine. Two blocks from the bay at Lovers' Point. Easy to walk neighborhood of wonderfully quaint homes. The neighbors are friendly; one with an energetic happy dog that comes to visit if you want. We had a lovely time and would enjoy returning sometime in the future.


Reviewed by Brian

Date 08/27/2016

Great house in a nice quiet neighborhood. Close to beach and town - easy walk to all.

Beautiful house

Reviewed by Anke

Date 07/13/2016

The house is really cute and designed in a kind of Old English style. All rooms are really beautiful, only the bathroom downstairs could get some renovation.There is a lot of kitchen equipment for cooking and dining.The neighbourhood is quiet, only the seagulls tend to wake you up at 6am or earlier ;-)Parking in front of the house was possible on most days but sometimes we had to park the car in a different street.

Great from top to bottom

Reviewed by Edward

Date 06/23/2016

We spent a delightful week at Sweet Pea. It is perfectly located to walk to almost everything. We are used to walking when we stay in Carmel, but have not done much in Pacific Grove. Wow, we missed a lot. We walked one day around to the Pt. Pinos Lighthouse on the coast and then by Lighthouse Rd back into town. We saw many neat things we were missing by driving. We also walked to the Aquarium, a short trip. The house was well appointed and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. You will find though that the upstairs bath is not really for older folks, as it is hard to get out of; however, the downstairs shower was very good. The web page does not say so, but there are hair dryers both upstairs and down. We had brought one as we didn't see it in the amenities list. Monterey Rentals was very accommodating and we were very pleased with the whole experience.

Nice Place

Reviewed by Chris

Date 12/18/2015

Nice place for family with up to 2 kids with an upstairs that is tailored made for them.

Loved the Sweet Pea

Reviewed by Rose

Date 08/14/2015

Loved the Sweet Pea. So cozy and convenient and within walking distance to everything in Pacific Grove. Will definitely stay again!

Sweet Pea lived up to its name, a delightful and quiet holiday retreat.

Reviewed by Catherine B

Date 05/28/2015

This charming Caroline Thornton Gothic Carpenter's cottage was the perfect location for our small family holiday. Two blocks from the ocean walking path, and walking distance to downtown, Monterrey Aquarium,and the charming National History museum, we were happy to park the car for the duration.

The cottage was charming and cozy, and we look forward to returning to enjoy it again, soon!Thanks to Kyle and Mary at Monterrey Rentals who made the rental experience such an easy and comfortable experience.

Sweet Pea was Sweet!

Reviewed by dunniganrealtors

Date 05/08/2015

This home was perfect for 3 girlfriends who wanted a place that we could hang out at or just use as a "home base". The location was perfect - 10 minutes to Carmel or 5 minutes to Monterey. It was well maintained and had everything we needed. Small living room could sit 4 easily and kitchen could seat 4 - 6 people. While not huge, it was charming and had all of the modern day amenities. Twin beds upstairs with lots of room and very cute bath (but don't plan on a soaking tub or long bath - cute claw tub is small and can't be used for a shower). Downstairs double bedded bedroom is fine for 2. No yard, but basking on the front porch is wonderful in warmer weather. At little wine and good friends - Sweet Pea lived up to it's name!

Perfect Family Get-Away

Reviewed by 901katy

Date 02/27/2015

Our 7 year old and 8 year old loved Sweet Pea, including me and my husband. We parked our car on the street and left it there for the entire stay. We rode our bikes to the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary, Monterey and along the coastline to watch the sunset. The kids loved playing in the ocean, looking for starfish and kayaking with the seals! Our cottage was clean and had everything we needed and was in a perfect location. I loved the charm and character of our house and all the houses around the historic district....i really felt like i was in 'small town America'. I would definitely go back at stay at Sweet Pea again!

Lovely place/Great location

Reviewed by Nancy53213

Date 08/13/2014

We enjoyed our stay at Sweet Pea. It was an adorable Victorian cottage with comfortable modern updates. It was nice having an upstairs suite for our teenage daughter. The location was great, just two blocks to downtown shops and restaurants, two blocks to the beach and walking distance to the Aquarium. Would definitely stay here again

Excellent house in a great location

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 01/23/2014

From start to finish this was a great experience. Being from overseas the ease of booking, payment, picking up keys etc was a big plus. The price included everything with nothing added on which other sites I looked at did. The house was emaculate and in a great location. Although we had a couple of small problems a quick email to Kyle and they were fixed promptly. I would definitely recommend this property and Monterey Rentals.

The Sweet Pea is Fantastic

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 12/09/2013

My experience at the Sweet Pea was truly wonderful. It was cozy and warm and every appliance worked. There were TVs and the book shelves were well-stocked (I think I even saw a book about Gustave Flaubert). In addition, even the neighbors on the sides of the house were friendly. Finally, the beach is only a block down the street. My only regret is that I didn't have more time to spend there.

I recommend the Sweet Pea without reservation.

Quaint and cold

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 10/03/2013

The house is in a great location and well appointed. However, three major appliances were broken, the furnace, the fireplace and the clothes washer. The house was cold when we arrived and had a difficult time warming up the rooms. The stairwell upstairs is very small and a tight squeeze. The kitchen was roomy and well equiped. We were planning to utilize the barbeque but was way to small for four people. Also planned to use the laundry facilities as we had 6 more days on our trip. However, the washing machine kept quitting and could not do any laundry. Also was no detergent.

Manager Response

Thank you so much for the feedback on Sweet Pea. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the fact that the house is well-appointed. The property owners do try hard to keep it well equipped and maintained. We always appreciate constructive criticism that helps both us and the property owners provide our guests with a superior experience.
Monterey Bay Property Management maintains a 24/7 maintenance line that is available to all of our guests (the phone number is in the property). Had you called to let us know that there was a problem with anything at the property, we would have been happy to respond immediately. It did turn out that the next guest notified us upon her arrival of the problem with the furnace/fireplace, which needed to simply have the pilot light (which services both the fireplace and the furnace) lit. She also let us know there was a problem with the washer, which we replaced for her. Had you called us about the barbecue, again, we would have been happy to bring you another one. So next time you visit, please don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable!

Vintage grace

Reviewed by Sue

Date 09/22/2013

Comfortable, clean home. Cute vintage charm. Walkiing distance to restaurants, shopping and beach. Friendly neighbor cats a nice bonus! Location and operation of washer a pain. Enjoyed our visit very much.


Have Questions?

Local Contact: Kyle

Phone: 831 233-7972

Email: Click here to send email